SLT camp excitement!

I’m really excited to be setting up this blog. I have done some minor blogging before but feel a bit more determined to blog more regularly about my progression in Senior Leadership and, hopefully, beyond.

In August I took the plunge and got myself a sought-after slot at the SLT camp

#sltcamp

https://sites.google.com/site/sltcampuk/

I thought it was too good a deal to miss out on. I loved the recent E2BN conference in Wyboston, learnt so much and still need to cascade it back at school. I think this will be even better, by us and for us.

I’ve plumped to sign up for delivering a Teachmeet. I did one of these at the Norwich teachmeet in June and at the E2BN conference. Both times about using iPads in Year 6; I have a feeling this SLT lot might be a bit cleverer than me at iPad use so am going to have a think about my focus.

I am really nervous. Am at a point in my career where I am older than others but don’t seem to have the self-esteem or the oomph in me to get to the next step. I am doing everything I can to be a better SLT and teacher. I am really hoping this camp will help develop my own vision as a leader and be inspired by others and how they do what they do.

Having been SENCO for the last 6 years I am now moving into a new SLT role as curriculum manager and hopefully CPD manager. I am a true believer that CPD can and, mostly, should come from what we know and as a staff we should share our skills and ideas not keep them hidden! This change in my role is scary but really really exciting too. Here I can mention Mike Bostock of 4Matrix, my Challenge 3 complete for SLT camp. 

I have had a lovely summer with my kids and friends and family, but also really enjoyed getting my teeth into some fascinating books about curriculum design. More about those later.

So first blog done, please read me and comment, it will encourage me to keep going!!

Finally a huge thanks to @MrLockyer and @MsFindlater for setting this all up, I can’t wait, even though I am a nervous wreck about it all! So exciting to have @TeacherToolkit there too!

Leave a Reply

