Back to school-itis

I’m blogging because it is an avoidance tactic. I have so much to that my lists have lists. I am excited about the coming year for the following reasons:

a) always like a class full of fresh faces, being disbelieving that they will ever be ready for high school and then in June catching myself saying ‘They are so ready for high school’!

b) New opportunities for me: senior leadership as curriculum (and I hope CPD) manager; senior leadership course run by the LA including a 3 day internship; SLTcamp and other great CPD opportunities.

c) Great staff joining the school, I feel a strengthening of community coming our way.

d) Changes and challenges with the curriculum, my reading research over the summer has been fascinating.

e) Linking with a school in Kerala, India. Many of our students are EAL, many of them from Kerala, so it seemed appropriate to connect with a school there. Global citizens unite.

I am NOT looking forward to:

a) alarm clocks in the morning, having been injured on the last day of term by having my ear drum ruptured I cannot hear in one ear so many alarms will be needed!

b) surgery on said ear drum at some point in the year 😦

c) Piles and mountains of marking

d) More changes to the SATs so feel like I am reinventing the wheel AGAIN!

 

Managed to avoid about 30 minutes of work time!

 teacher-not-wanting-to-go-to-school

Leave a Reply

